Maple Bacon Braised Brussel Sprouts – yum!

I try to prepare our meals seasonally, eating as much locally grown fruits and veggies as we can when they are in seasons.  When its time for autumn veggies and I want my dear husband to eat Brussel sprouts, I have to be creative.  I love them, but need to make them a bit more appealing to have other takers.

IMG_2134

This week we had a gorgeous bunch of Brussel sprouts in our CSA basket from the amazing gals at Farm Chicks Produce.  So they are on the menu tonight, and I went in search of a new recipe to try.   Well I think I may have hit on the perfect recipe – it is SO good I might just finish them before dinner.  This is a must-try autumn recipe.

Here’s my version.  (It has bacon and while I’m sure you could use something else its definitely part of the flavor of the dish, but would still be tasty without I think.)

Ingredients

bunch of Brussel sprouts, washed, dried and quartered (I used about 2 cups, wish I had made more they are so good)

2 strips of applewood bacon, cut into small 1/2″ bits

1 Tablespoon of butter

1 small shallot, minced

1/2 tsp Dijon mustard

3 Tablespoons of maple syrup

Directions:

  1. Saute bacon bits until crisp and remove from the pan.
  2. Remove bacon bits to paper towel (and try to keep your kids from eating them all!)
  3. Add Brussel sprouts and shallots to the pan and sauté until lightly browned over medium heat, stirring frequently.
  4. Stir in the 1/2 tsp mustard and blend in thoroughly, then add the bacon bits and maple syrup.
  5. heat until the syrup begins to caramelize and coats the Brussel sprouts.
  6. Serve – delicious!

The recipe I started from was larger, so just adjust to size as needed and have fun experimenting.

 

IMG_2139

 

IMG_2140

 

IMG_2143

 

IMG_2145

IMG_2150

YUM!

Leave a Reply

